The Wonder Years is a charity run by a committee of volunteers. In order to maintain the high quality provision we offer, it is essential we continue to have a supportive and involved committee.

The duty of the committee in to ensure the smooth running of the charity. At our committee meetings we discuss staffing levels and session requirements, applications for relevant grants and purchasing equipment, staff training, fundraising, finances and policies.

The role of a committee member is often very varied and challenging. Good communication skills are important, as is the ability to attend most meetings and an enthusiasm and willingness to drive the organisation forward. There are a number of positions within the committee:

Chair – this is a central role leading the committee and organisation. The chair plans and runs meetings, deals with outside agencies, makes essential and emergency decisions, maintains regular contact with the Manager and oversees all aspects of the committee, staffing and day to day running of the organisation.

Secretary – takes the minutes of the committee meetings and circulates these, promotes meetings, updates contact details, ensures documentation such as policies is up to date and generally supports the Chair.

Treasurer – keeps up to date accounts, helps set the annual budget for the organisation, produces the financial annual report and provides this to an accountant for full auditing and notifies the Charity Commission, keeps banking and payroll records.

Lead Fundraiser – takes on a lead role in the planning and organisation of events.

We are always delighted to welcome people interested in becoming involved with either the committee or as a ‘Friend of the Wonder Years’ – if you can offer help at certain events or have a particular skill, we would love to hear from you! Please ask any member of staff how to contact a committee member or email us directly using the contact details on this page.

The members of the committee are always happy to hear from anyone with questions or comments about The Wonder Years. Contact any of us using the details below.

Nicola Foster


Rich Carrick


Tammy Ferguson


Tisha Norton

Lead Fundraiser

Hayley Norton

Committee Member

Claire Smith

Committee Member

Kerry Rigby

Committee Member